Nurturing Seeds

The heated bench in my mother’s glasshouse is the perfect cosy little bed for my seeds – they can wait it out indoors and grow up a little bit until this cold spell passes.  There’s some herbs – mint, marjoram, oregano, as well as some pretty sweet pea.  I’ve two types of chilli heating up also.  One is reputed to be the ‘worlds hottest chilli’ so we’ll have to wait until late summer to discover if that claim is all it promises.  There were just 5 deadly seeds in the packet.   The other is simply called ‘chilli pyramid’ on the packet and look nice and colourful.  Getting ones hands on red hot chillis is not easy in Roscommon so hopefully these will work out.  They will go into the tunnel for some sizzling heat once they come on.

I just recieved some seeds from the organic centre yesterday in the post – mixed radishes,  chinese cabbage, florence fennel and kohl rabi for direct sowing and chervil, which I’ll start inside on the lovely warm bench today.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tess on April 12, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Hi Sarah,
    I see you’ve planted radishes… I’ve wanted to plant some (I always see the seeds for sale in my local seed store) but thing is I dont know what I’d do with them once they’ve grown! Any suggestions? Are radishes worth the rake?

    Reply

    • Well cait de brun, thank you for your question on radishes. They grow quite fast, and I’ve recently been advised that they’re a great marker when planting slower-germinating seeds to see where your line is. They would then be pulled out later. Is this all radish are good for? No, they add great texture and crunch to any salad and I’ve recently spotted a lovely recipe for roast radish. Keep an eye on this blog for radish recipes when they are ready to use. I recommend whole heartedly to you to plant some radishes.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Tess on April 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    thanks!they do sound pretty useful! I’ll let you know how I get on. I’ve already planted some coriander and thyme only problem is I didn’t fill up the pot to the brim with compost I’m only a novice balcony gardener!) so they have gotten quite stalky already to try and get a peek at the sun.I fear there’s not much I can do about it though…just wait and hope they still produce enough leaves to get some good flavour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

