Kohl Rabi

A member of the brassica family, being bred from the original cabbage plant and meaning ‘cabbage turnip’ (Kohl – German, Rabi – Swiss/German).  It seems it will grow almost anywhere and I can vouch that it hasn’t demanded too much attention from me in the garden.  It’s an interesting looking vegetable, coming in both white & purple varieties.  I have the former almost ready to harvest and try.  I haven’t grown it before so am looking forward to trying it out.  Apparently (according to Wikipedia), it is very commonly eaten in Kashmir so they may have some interesting recipes!  It can be eaten raw or cooked.  I will let you know how I get along with it.

Kohl Rabi almost ready to eat

Leave a Reply

