Wild Raspberries

I went off on a little walk with my husband this morning down a wild track that hadn’t been used in quite a while.  Not long after we were forced to turn back and that’s when I came across ripe wild raspberries!  I was so excited I did a bit of skipping.  I have been making a lot of use of berries and currants from the garden in the last week or two so coming across they wild ones led to some taste testing and comparisons, which I never shy away from.  My gallant husband lent me his cap to fill with raspberries.  Our own raspberries are about 3 times the size of these little ones:

The photo is a bit clinical but I’m trying to compare the two and I didn’t have a camera with me earlier today.   I have done nothing with the raspberries yet but eat them whole and raw.  The wild variety are more intense in flavour and not at all as tart as the garden variety.

I think fresh raspberries are the ultimate luxury – I feel very decadent when I’m cooking with them.  Probably because a lousy punnet in the supermarket will set you back the cost of all your other food put together.  They beat strawberries and maybe blackberries hands down.  I recently had coffee ice-cream with hot raspberries and a chocolate sauce in a restaurant which was amazing.  I do like them with dark chocolate.  I’ve been baking raspberry and chocolate muffins this week.

Unfortunately I don’t have any photos today but the recipe is:

4oz / 110g soft butter

3oz / 75g soft brown sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

8oz / 220g self-raising flour

1 banana, mashed

5oz / 140g fresh raspberries

3oz / 75g dark chocolate, cut into chunks

Cream the butter and sugar.  Gradually add the eggs, beating after each addition.  Mix in the vanilla essence.  Sieve in the flour and gently fold into the butter mixture.  Fold in the rest of the ingredients – banana, raspberries and chocolate chunks.  Spoon into 12 medium bun cases or 6-8 muffin cases.  Bake at 180 C for 15-20 minutes.

One response to this post.

  1. I haven’t tried wild raspberries, but we do have two varieties of wild blackberries growing on our property, and it is the smaller ones which are the sweetest, as your wild raspberries are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

