Oven Dried Tomatoes

My mother has been making these beauties in the very low temperature of the oven of the range (aga) overnight.  I thought I could try the same in my electric oven, but was a little worried the temperature would be too high.  I sliced the tomatoes (cherry and regular sizes) in half horizontally and left them on a baking tray facing up with just a sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper.  In they went and off I went to bed.  The temperature was under 100 C.  I can say there was no wastage of tomatoes – they’re yum!  In fact, some of the larger ones were only half dehydrated and could do with longer if you’re not planning to use them soon.

I place them in a jar with a couple of cloves of garlic and covered them completely with a good olive oil.  I didn’t feel bad about using all my good olive oil because the flavour of the oil after marinating with the tomatoes and garlic is fabulicious and can be used in loads of ways – dipping, cooking, dressings etc.  There’s double the pleasure out of this recipe.  Try it with the last of the tomatoes!

A tasty jar!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by vickscakes on October 20, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Sarah, yet another good reason to add an Aga to my wish list!! Have told the boyfriend (plumber) if we ever buy a house he can get a designer bathroom if I can get an Aga, and maybe a Smeg although am over them a little as we have one in work & there isn’t anything amazing about it. But still really cool. Tomatoes look fab,yummy with ciabatta….em.. Vickx

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sarah on October 25, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I know – things just taste better coming out of the range! I like the Smegs too – my friend has a very large one that I’m a little envious of. Wishing about kitchens is nice….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

