Pasta from Scratch

About a year and a half ago I received a lovely gift of a pasta machine.  Within that year and a half I have not used this pasta machine!  So, I thought, what better way to spend a day off last Sunday than making pasta and eating fresh ravioli?  I found a couple of people to agree with me – my photo taker & a good eater.

On a visit to Bologna, Italy a few years ago my sister organised a personal pasta making workshop (the native tortelloni to be exact – ricotta & spinach filling, the ricotta fresh from farm – amazing).  It was in a tiny apartment of a lady called Ciara and there we spent a happy few hours learning how to make real pasta and shaping it into gorgeous little tortellonis.  She didn’t use a pasta machine.  On leaving that day she presented me with the very long rolling pin used to roll the pasta out to a transparent thinness.  It was a struggle to bring home with Ryanair but I made sure I got it back to Ireland!:

Bologna Pasta Machine

Now for the ingredients.  The last time I was in Sicily I brought back a little ’00’ flour (a strong, very fine flour) which is perfect for pasta making but you’ll make an equally good dough with strong white flour.  Ciara recommended a sprinkle of fine semolina in with the flour which I did.  And the final ingredient is good free-range eggs.    For every 100g flour you’ll need a large egg.  300g flour made enough ravioli for 2 main courses.

I’ll show you pictorially how all this happened:

The filling was made up of shallots, celery, garlic, butternut squash and manchego cheese.  I don’t have good picture of the ravioli making because my photo taker had to shoot back to Dublin.  What you do is place one very thin layer of pasta on a lightly floured surface and spoon out small mounds of the cooled filling at intervals. Brush around the edges of the pasta with beaten egg and lay an identical layer of pasta on top.  Start at one end of the sheet and carefully press the two layers of pasta around the filling being sure to gently press out air bubbles as you do so.

Ravioli Filling

Adding cheese after cooking veggies

Sorry for having no pictures of the actual ravioli but trust me they were good.  I cooked them for 2-3 minutes in boiling water and tossed them in sage butter to serve. The eater was very satisfied.  I’m planning a little supper club this weekend and this will be primi – with the addition of leeks to season it up a bit.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Just came upon your blog, I think it’s great. I too am a garden/cooking fanatic although the garden takes over in Summer. Love that Spiral bed you worked on. I definitely intend to visit Sunflower Garden soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

