100% Oatbread

This recipe was passed on to me by my Aunt Teresa who picked it up from someone else.  Weight watchers was mentioned as a source.  From talking to people it seems clear that a lot of women have heard of this recipe.  I had been experimenting with high-oat bread recipes for my clients and this one is really quite good.  Oats are a great source of soluble fibre and are a very slow-release energy (low GI) compared to wheat breads (medium to high GI).  People with conditions like PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) and diabetes particularly benefit from eating diets that contain very slow-release carbohydrates like oats.  So this bread recipe is viewed by many people who possess it to be a very healthy, low-calorie bread.  But let me break some bad news – too much bread, of any type, means extra calories and possible weight gain.  This oatbread, however, would move slower through the gut and you may getting away with eating less of it and feel fuller for longer.  On top of all that good news, soluble fibre is also really good for keeping the gut healthy.

The bread also ties into ‘Eat Only Irish Week’ which kicks off next Monday 9th May.  The oats are from Kilbeggan Organic Oats with some Irish natural yogurt and Donegal rapeseed oil.  I’ve used a small amount of bicarbonate soda – if you’re being really strictly Irish you may get away without this as the bread does not rise very much.

Raw Materials

The recipe is:

1 * 500g tub natural yogurt

2 * 500g (yogurt) tubs oats

2 tsp rapeseed oil

1 level tsp bread soda

Mix well and press into a 2lb loaf tin.  Bake at 180 C for 45 minutes.   Cool & Slice.

Oatbread Mix

For breakfast – a lovely slow-release, set-you-up-for-the-day porridge bread.  Some people have had such bad experiences with porridge growing up they refuse to touch it – but try this bread!  All the goodness of oats without the porridge memories.

100% Oatbread

13 responses to this post.

  1. […] wine available Lusca Irish Wine Oatbread RecipeTasty, healthy & Irish Oatbread Recipe (4) […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Breda Ryan on May 8, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    The oatbread is a bit bland. Would it work with fresh herbs and garlic from the garden added? And have you a suggestion for an Irish-grown protein for a vegan diet, please, i.e. Irish-grown pulses? It’s easy to source vegetables locally, and make tea from lemon balm, mint, nettle, dandelion etc from the garden, but the only Irish source of protein I can find is free-range eggs, and I’d rather not eat eggs every day. I’m following the ‘eat only Irish’ challenge.

    Reply

    • Hi Breda – this diet is bit of a challenge for a vegan diet. A year’s notice could ensure some seed/bean saving – we let some runner beans grow on last year and dry on the stalk. They kept really well. I don’t know anyone who does this commercially. Seaweed is an idea and some have protein – for example dillisk – I picked up a few different sea veg from this company: ‘Carraig Fhada Seaweed’. I’m sure the oatbread would work with addition of any flavourings – even seaweed!

      Reply

      • Posted by Breda Ryan on May 10, 2011 at 12:46 pm

        Thanks for the seaweed tip. I’ve always loved dilisk, so will certainly try it in the bread. I agree the campaign should have had a longer lead-in. It seems to be focussed more on meat than on other foods which need advance planning if they’re to be available outside the ‘fresh’ season. Yogourt is a good protein source, but not for vegans, of course, or dairy-intolerant people. The oatbread is good with a little chopped wild garlic and rosemary.

  3. Posted by rachel on May 10, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    definately going to try the bread for the kids as porridge substitute!will keep you posted!

    Reply

  4. This looks really great. I’ve been eating an oat bread I found at the local health food shop as I’ve become bored with porridge, but will defintely try this recipe now. Thanks.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Imelda on August 2, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Help, I’ve been making this bread all year and consistently, no matter if I have a lower oven temp or more liquid, it fails to rise and middle stays damp. Even at that we eat it as it’s so delicious. What the hell am I doing wrong?

    Reply

    • Imelda – I’m not sure how much help I can be. It really doesn’t rise very much at all. Temperature should be 170-180 C depending on your oven…..sometimes I take it out near the end of cooking and return it to the oven without the tin upside down and this helps with even cooking. Could it be the tin? I have one awful loaf tin that makes a mess of bread – it came as part of a set from a supermarket. No matter how good for you it is, damp bread is not on! We have enough of that in the weather.

      Reply

  6. My first attempt at this is now in the oven, as I am a type 1 diabetic I’m hoping it will be better for me than ordinary bread which is no so good. I am really looking forward to trying it out!

    Reply

  7. Made this last week, It tastes Ok, but a bit dense, I toasted it and had it with boiled egg. I think next time I might add a little more raising agent and perhaps a little sweetener. but it’ll be good for me as I am diabetic and it’s very Low GI.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

